Pakistan Cricket Team is once again going to Military Academy for Asia Cup physical training

The Pakistan Cricket team is all set to return to Army School of Physical & Training (ASPT) at Pakistan Military Academy, Kakul, Abbottabad.

The PCB announced today the name of players who are going to 5-day training camp taking place at the military academy. The physical training camp will ensure that all players are physically fit and are ready to take part in the upcoming Asia Cup 2018.

This is the same place the cricket team went for physical fitness training in 2016 after showcasing poor performance in the Asia Cup and World Twenty20.

After the training, Pakistan cricket team went to England for a test series against the English Cricket team where they gave an excellent performance.

Whether or not Pakistani players will be trained by military professionals like 2016 is yet unclear.

Here are some highlights of how the physical training was like at the PMA in 2016 for Pakistan Cricket Team.

Players going to the fitness camp

PCB has compiled a list of 26 players heading to the training camp. The players will be accompanied by team officials including head coach Mickey Arthur. The full list of players can be found below:

  1. Fakhar Zaman
  2. Imam Ul Haq
  3. Babar Azam
  4. Shoaib Malik
  5. Sarfraz Ahmad
  6. Asif Ali
  7. Shadab Khan
  8. Fahim Ashraf
  9. Muhammad Amir
  10. Hassan Ali
  11. Usman Shinwari
  12. Muhammad Nawaz
  13. Imad Wasim
  14. Haris Sohail
  15. Muhammad Hafeez
  16. Yasir Shah
  17. Shaheen Shah Afridi
  18. Junaid Khan
  19. Shahibzada Farhan
  20. Shan Masood
  21. Usman Salahuddin
  22. Asad Shafiq
  23. Bilal Asif
  24. Muhammad Asghar
  25. Rahat Ali
  26. Mir Hamza
Team officials:
  1. Mickey Arthur, Head Coach
  2. Grant Flower, Batting Coach
  3. Grant Luden, Trainer
  4. Azhar Mahmood, Bowling Coach
  5. Cliffe Deacon, Physiotherapist
  6. Talha Ijaz . Analyst

Asia Cup 2018

The Asia Cup 2018 is set to begin from September 15, 2018. The tournament will have two stages beginning from the group stage then going into the super four stage.

Before the series begins, qualifier matches will be played between Hong Kong, Malaysia, Nepal, Oman, Singapore, and United Arab Emirates.

The winner of these qualifiers will be the 6th team of the series.

For full Asia Cup 2018 schedule, click here.