First of its kind ‘Cricket on ice’ starts today with Shahid Afridi and Sehwag leading the two teams

The very first of its kind ‘Cricket on Ice’ begins today. The two highly anticipated matches will be played on a field covered in ice with some of the best players from around the world taking part.

The first of the two matches will start today at 4 PM (Pakistan Standard Time) on top of the snowy peaks of Swiss Alps.

The event ‘St Moritz Ice Cricket 2018’ will see Shahid Afridi-led Royals facing Virender Sehwag-led Diamonds. Each team is comprised of some of the best players from around the world including Abdul Razzaq, Shoaib Akhtar, Mahela Jayawardene, Zaheer Khan, Jacques Kallis, Michael Hussey and more.

To enjoy this first of its kind historic event in cricketing history, legends from the cricketing world will be present. Wasim Akram alongside his wife Shaniera Akram has already made their way to the Swiss Alps to enjoy the matches taking place on February 8th and 9th.

In Pakistan, Ten Sports will be broadcasting the match starting 4 PM.

For more information on the event, don’t forget to check the official page of St. Moritz Ice Cricket.

St Moritz Ice Cricket 2018 squads

The two teams facing each other comprises of names that are well known in the cricketing world. Here is the full list of the squads.

Shahid Afridi-Royals XI

  • Shahid Afridi (Pakistan)
  • Shoaib Akhtar (Pakistan)
  • Abdul Razzaq (Pakistan)
  • Jacques Kallis (South Africa)
  • Graeme Smith (South Africa)
  • Daniel Vettori (New Zealand)
  • Nathan McCullum (New Zealand)
  • Grant Elliott (New Zealand)
  • Monty Panesar (England)
  • Owais Shah (England)
  • Matt Prior (England)
  • Aidan Andrews (Switzerland)

Virender Sehwag-Diamonds XI

  • Virender Sehwag (India)
  • Zaheer Khan (India)
  • Mohammad Kaif (India)
  • Ajit Agarkar (India)
  • Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka)
  • Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka)
  • Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka)
  • Michael Hussey (Australia)
  • Andrew Symonds (Australia)
  • Mithun Manhas (India)
  • Ramesh Powar (India)
  • Rohan Jain (Switzerland)